Author Topic: Deadlifts ?  (Read 1334 times)

Offline Trev71

• This space intentionally left blank
    • YouTube
  • Height: 5'10.5"
  • Weight: 230
Deadlifts ?
« on: June 11, 2015, 01:41:15 PM »
My worst lift for a variety of reasons, when I started lifting at 40:
  • I had lower back issues dating back years - this still holds me back as I have this fear of injury (the fear is fading)
  • I had no legs at all, no squat, no dead, no quads, no hammies, no ass even
  • Started from the ground up, literally at 95lbs with long term goals of body weight and 225lbs... hah.

All that said, I had always gone the EGO route of touch n go reps. A couple of times I tried to stop and do real 'pause' reps, and in the end my ego kept me going back to touch and go. Also, my training partners, the guys who know 'everything' are rep guys.

It's all about the reps in many exercises and, the deadlift I am learning, is also about the reps, but more so about the full rep, the full weight off the floor on every pull, and overall less reps but better reps.  Less is More as they say.. and this I believe holds true for me.

So... after a couple of years of slow progress... I am back to doing real deadlift reps for most all my sets.

It's more challenging, and strangely enough I have sort of convinced the guys I train with to start doing them and.. they are adding them in a bit.

So I am doing sets with 'less' reps per say, rarely going past 5, truthfully rarely going past 3 or 4 as I am trying to target 2-3 rep pulls for my heavy set(s) and 5 as a max reps on lesser weighted sets (if I can do more than 5, I don't have enough weight on the bar).

I do feel this is going to help me gain in strength off the floor... and help me progress in strength more so than touch n go. Actually, it is already helping and I am seeing noticeable speed increase off the floor with my normal higher end set(s).